Parivartan 2012 unveiled truly unique initiatives to transition toward sustainable manufacturing, infrastructure, energy management and closed – loop businesses systems, amongst others. Multi-business conglomerate ITC, Textile leader Welspun, Oil major BPCL, IT majors TCS and Wipro and banking leader IndusInd Bank were amongst 14 large and small Indian corporates that bagged the Parivartan Sustainability Leadership Awards for 2012.
The awards were presented at the evening plenary of the Annual Summit of the Sustainable Business Leadership Forum, India’s first market development forum on Sustainability and Innovation, held in New Delhi on October 11, 2012.



Dr. S.Y.Quraishi

Former Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) of India

Uddesh Kohli_0

Dr. Uddesh Kohli

Chairman Emeritus
Construction Industry Development Council and Senior Advisor

Bakul Patel

Bakul R. Patel

Board Director
Infrastructure Development Finance Company

Stuart L. Hart

Stuart L. Hart

S.C. Johnson Chair
Sustainable Global Enterprise

Rita Menon

Rita Menon

Chairman-cum-Managing Director
India Trade Promotion Organisation

KC Mehra

K C Mehra

Resident Director (Corporate)
Shapoorji Pallonji Group

Bazmi R. Husain

Managing Director
ABB India

Corporate Sustainability Stewardship Awards

Subcategory: Innovation in Business Model and Strategy




  • Reverse Logistics
  • ITC Gardenia
  • Dystar
  • Nokia
  • Pratibha Syntex
  • The Orchid
Reverse Logistics for Empowering Value Chains to be Sustainable. Reverse Logistics (Green Dust) RLC is shaping reverse supply chain efficiencies in the consumer electronics segment in the Indian marketplace. The company has pioneered branded quality factory seconds backed by a rigorous 50-point quality inspection process to guarantee the quality.

ITC Gardenia for Shaping a Brand Leveraging Sustainability. ITC Gardenia is the world’s largest LEED Platinum certified hotel. In addition to many energy and water conservation efforts, the hotel uses 100% bio-degradable room cleaning products and is close to achieving zero water discharge and zero solid waste management levels.

Subcategory: Resource Conservation Leadership in Manufacturing 


  • Welspun
  • ABB
  • Kirloskar Oil Ltd.
  • Lawkim Motors
  • LNB Group of Companies (Maharaja Shree Umaid Mills)
  • TVS Motors
Welspun for implementing a comprehensive resource conservation plan over the last 2 years. Initiatives for energy conservation have led to saving of 15740 units of power and 11 MT coal per day. In addition, water savings to the tune of 403 KL/day have been achieved by the firm. The plant also has installed a Bio-Gas Plant to generate biogas from all bio-degradable wastes like Biological Sludge, garden, kitchen & canteen waste.  In addition, the firm has succeeded in harvesting approximately 2 billion liters of rain water.

Subcategory: Resource Conservation Leadership in Infrastructure 


  • Essar Steel
  • Jindal Stainless Limited
  • Shree Cement
Essar for committing to be the most water-efficient steel maker in India and focusses on reducing the water consumption per ton of crude steel. Rain water harvesting is an important aspect of plant operations. Innovations include beneficiation of iron ore at pelletization plants, hot DRI charging in the Electric Arc Furnace, air fuel ratio optimization in combustion and recovery of waste heat for production of electricity.

Subcategory: Resource Conservation Leadership in Sustainable Spaces


  • IndusInd Bank
  • Cognizant Technology Solutions
  • Infosys
  • Intel
  • PVR
  • Sun Carrier Omega
  • The Leela

Indus Ind bank for it’s ‘Empower the Powerless’ project aims to energize the rural banking outreach through solar powered ATMs. Over 100 ATMs have been solarized so far.

Sustainability Innovation Award

Subcategory: Energy Services and Systems


  • Ankur Scientific
  • Aspiration Energy
  • Gram Power
  • Greenko Group
Green India Building Systems and Services (GIBSS) for pioneering several cost effective solutions, including geothermal cooling systems, hot water co-generation systems, and lighting and indoor air quality systems, to enable green housing in the urban settings. Their boiler replacement Heat Pump Products for the Hotels industry is 10 times more energy efficient than conventional boilers. GIBSS has a capability to deliver many of its solutions as a service.

Subcategory: Energy Management Tools


  • Volvo India
  • Ecolibrium
  • Micro Technologies
  • See Beyond Technologies
  • Wifinity
  • Tata Consultancy Services
Volvo IT for it’s Commute Greener tool that guides individuals and companies towards greener commuting options thus shaping reduction of the an individual’s CO2 footprint. The reporting capabilities of the tool can be utilized in annual reports, sustainability reporting and environmental management systems or certifications.

Subcategory: Innovative Materials and Recycling


  • Hanjer Biotech
  • Damascus Fortune
  • Green Brick Eco Solutions
  • Maharani Paints
  • Vashudhaecofriends Projects

Hanjer Biotech for developing green technology to recycle Mixed Solid Waste that creates valuable green products. These high quality end-products are suitable for commercial and industrial use, thus extending the value chain of Hanjer’s environment friendly processes and initiatives.

Subcategory: Resource Conservation and Augmentation


  • NESPAL Air Water Heater
  • Aqua Designs
  • Cleantech Ecosystems
  • Green Con
  • Rossari
  • SA Pharmachem
  • UEM Group
  • Hybridtronics
  • Anand-Gabriel

NESPAL’s Air Water Heater (AWH) for deploying AWHs at scale. The AWH absorbs heat from atmosphere even when the ambient temperature is sub-zero (-30 deg. C) and transfers this heat to water at higher temperature, producing cool air as by-product. As compared to any conventional water heating technology, this creates almost 80% energy savings enabling a pay-back of 12-18 months on the original investment.

Sustainability Disclosure Leadership Awards

Subcategory: Special recognition based on Public Disclosure of Top 100 cos

Tata_Consultancy_Services_Logo.svg BPCL Wipro

  • Tata Consultancy Services (TCS)
  • Bharat Petroleum Corporation limited (BPCL)
  • Wipro
Tata Consultancy Services (TCS) for the most consistent disclosure on Sustainability parameters over the 3 year period between 2009 and 2012.

 Bharat Petroleum Corporation limited (BPCL) for the most consistent disclosure by PSUs (Public Sector Undertakings) on Sustainability parameters over the 3 year period between 2009 and 2012.

Wipro for the most enhancement of disclosure on its Sustainability parameters over the 3 year period between 2009 and 2012.

Top Ranked firms for Sustainability Disclosure Leadership Awards

  • Bharat Petroleum Corp. Ltd.
  • GAIL India Ltd
  • Infosys Ltd.
  • ITC Limited
  • JSW Steel Ltd.
  • Larsen & Toubro Ltd.
  • Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd.
  • Oil and Natural Gas Corp. Ltd.
  • Reliance Industries Limited
  • Sesa Goa Ltd.
  • Tata Consultancy Services Limited
  • Tata Motors Limited
  • Wipro Ltd

Sustainability Leader of the Year

Subcategory: Sustainability Executive of the Year


  • Niranjan Khatri, ITC Welcom Environ

Niranjan Khatri, ITC for his role in ITC’s Welcom Environ initiative; which has set the benchmark for other hospitality organizations to follow.

Subcategory: Sustainability Catalyst of the Year


  • Dr. Datta Roy, Dalkia Energy Services

Dr. Datta Roy, for the ongoing efforts in catalyzing the growth of the Energy Services Companies (ESCO) in India.